The NRCCS Board with honorees: (L to R): Treasurer Millicent Lee, President Karenann Carty, honorees Emma Silva, Barbara Crane, and Lynn Moloshok Green; Secretary Eddie Castro, Vice President Denise Link, and New Rochelle Mayor Yadira Ramos-Herbert.

NRCCS President Karenann Carty (left) and Scholarship Committee Chair William Ianuzzi (right) with Scholarship winners Pedro Esquival Lopez, Karun Kulamavalavan, and Brianna Rivas.

NRCCS Celebrates Community Champions

The New Rochelle Council of Community Services (NRCCS) held its annual Celebratory Breakfast on Friday, June 7th at the Davenport Mansion to celebrate volunteers who have given outstanding service, dedication, and commitment to the people of New Rochelle. This year’s “Community Champions” are Barbara Crane, Lynn Moloshok Green, and Emma Silva. In addition, the NRCCS awarded scholarships to deserving juniors at New Rochelle’s high schools: Brianna Rivas of the Huguenot Academy was awarded $1,000, with $500 each awarded to Pedro Esquival Lopez and Karun Kulamavalavan, both students at New Rochelle High School.

NRCCS President Karenann Carty said, “Each of our honorees celebrated the spirit of volunteerism that characterizes the New Rochelle community and expressed confidence in our city’s strength and vitality. It was tremendously empowering.”

County Executive Geroge Latimer, County Legislator Terry Clements and New Rochelle Mayor Yadira Ramos-Herbert were among those on hand to congratulate the honorees, who also received congratulatory citations from New York State Assembly Members Amy Paulin and Steve Otis, New York State Senator Shelley Mayer and Westchester County Legislator Judah Holstein.

The NRCCS is the umbrella organization for all the non-profit organizations in New Rochelle, including health and human service agencies, religious institutions, and educational facilities. The group meets regularly to assess and address the vital needs of the community.

The breakfast event was chaired by Linda Fosina with a committee that included Jennifer Lanser, Millicent Lee, Theresa Kump Leghorn, Lisa Itzkowitz, Ann Spindel, Stephanie Tomei, and Arlene Zuckerman. The Scholarship Committee was chaired by William Ianuzzi and included Carol Feldman, Theresa Kump Leghorn, Ann Spindel, and Stephanie Tomei.